East India Company

Company rule in India effectively began in 1757 after the Battle of Plassey.

In the Battle of Plassey, Nawab of Ben-gal surrendered his dominions to the Company.

Company was granted the diwani, or the right to collect revenue, in Bengal and Bihar in 1765.

When the Company established a capital in Calcutta,Warren Hastings was appointed the first Governor General.

Company’s rule lasted until 1858 after Indian rebellion of 1857.

Siraj-ud-Daula was the last independent Nawab of Bengal who succeeded Alivardi Khan to the throne.

The end of his reign marks the end of the independent rule in India and beginning of the company’s rule that continued unabated over the next two hundred years.

Mir Jafar Ali Khan Bahadur, commonly known as Mir Jafar, (c. 1691–February 5, 1765) was the first Nawab of Bengal under Company rule in India.

After Siraj decline Mir Jafar was in-stalled as the Nawab in 1757 by the British East India Company.

Mir Qasim ( May 8, 1777) was the Nawab of Bengal from 1760 to 1763.

The Battle of Buxar was fought on 23 October 1764 between East India Company led by Hector Munro and the combined army of Mir Qasim, the Nawab of Bengal: the Nawab of Awadh and the Mughal King Shah Alam II.