Social and Cultural Reforms

Raja Rammohan Roy established the Brahmo Samaj at Calcutta in 1828 in order to purify Hinduism and to preach monotheism.

He established the Atmiya Sabha in 1815.

Raja Rammohan Roy is most re-membered for helping Lord William Bentinck to declare the practice of Sati a punishable offence in 1829.

Henry Vivian Derozio was the founder of the Young Bengal Movement.

The Arya Samaj was founded by Swami Dayanand Saraswati at Bombay in 1875.

He believed the Vedas were the source of true knowledge. His motto was “Back to the Vedas”.

He was against idol worship, child marriage and caste system based on birth.

The first Dayanand Anglo-Vedic (DAV) School was founded in 1886 at Lahore.

The Prarthana Samaj was founded in 1867 in Bombay by Dr. Atmaram Pandurang.

The original name of Swami Vivekananda was Narendranath Dutta (1863-1902). He was famous disciple of Shri Ramkrishna Paramahamsa.

Swami Vivekananda participated at the Parliament of Religions held in Chicago (USA) in September 1893 and raised the prestige of India and Hindu-ism very high.

The Theosophical Society was founded in New York (USA) in 1875 by Madam H.P.Blavatsky, a Russian lady, and Henry Steel Olcott, an American colonel.

Pandit Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar helped J.D. Bethune to establish the Bethune School.

Jyotiba Phule founded the Satyashodak Samaj In 1873.

The Aligarh Movement was started by Sir Syed Ahmad Khan (1817-98) for the social and educational advance-ment of the Muslims in India.

Baba Dayal Das founded the Nirankari Movement.

The Namdhari Movement was founded by Baba Ram Singh.