Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha)

It is the lower and popular house of the State. Members are chosen by direct election on the basis of adult suffrage from territorial Constituencies (Article 170).

Their number of members varies between 60 and 500. However certain States like Sikkim, Goa, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh have less than 60 members.

The Governor may nominate one Anglo-Indian to it.

The reservation of seats has been provided for SCs and STs on the basis of their population.

According to Article 172, duration of Assembly is normally 5 years. But it may be dissolved earlier by the Governor.

Its term may also be extended by one year at a time by Parliament during national emergency, though this can in no case be extended beyond 6 months after the proclamation has ceased to operate.