Lok Sabha (People’s House)

Lok Sabha is known as the Lower or House of People.

The Lok Sabha is the popular House of the Parliament because its members are directly elected.

Its first sitting took place on May 13, 1952.

Normally, three Sessions of the Lok Sabha are held in a year, namely, the Budget Session, the Monsoon Session and the Winter Session.

The Budget Session is the most important and the longest of the three Sessions, usually commencing some-time in the third week of February and ending by the middle of May.

The Monsoon Session normally commences sometime in the middle of July and lasts till the third week of August.

The Winter Session generally begins in the middle of November and comes to an end sometime in the last week of December.

All the members of the Parliament are popularly elected, except not more than two members of the Anglo-Indian community, who are nominated by the President.

In the Constitution, the strength of the Lok Sabha was provisioned to be not more than 552 : 530 from the States, 20 from the Union Territories and 2 nominated from the Anglo-Indian community.

It is composed of representatives of the people from 543 constituencies, chosen by direct election on the basis of adult suffrage, and meets in the Lok Sabha Chambers of the Sansad Bhavan in New Delhi.

As per Article 81 there shall be not more than 530 representatives from the States, 20 from the Union Territories and not more than 2 nominated members from Anglo-Indian community (Article 331), i.e. Total 552

Under the current laws, the strength of Lok Sabha is 545, including the two seats reserved for members of the An-glo-Indian community.

A total of 131 seats (18.42%) are reserved for representatives of Scheduled Castes (84) and Scheduled Tribes (47).

The Bharatiya Janata Party (of the NDA) achieved an absolute majority with 282 seats out of 543 in the 16th Lok Sabha held in 2014.

But the Constitution empowers the Lok Sabha to re-adjust the strength.

The party with largest member after ruling party and having at least 1/10th of the strength of Lok Sabha is recognised as Opposition Party.

Presently Uttar Pradesh tops the list followed by Maharashtra and West Bengal respectively. UP-80, Maharashtra-48, West Bengal-42, Andhra Pradesh-42, Tamil Nadu-39.

Election: Lok Sabha members are directly elected by the people of the states on the basis of adult suffrage. However, in case of Sikkim’its sole representative in the House of the People is elected by the member of its Legislative Assembly (Article 371 F(e)).

Qualifications: Article 84 states about the eligibility for membership of Parliament. Accordingly:

  • He should be a citizen of India.
  • He should not be less than of 25 years of age.
  • He should be a registered voter in any of the Parliamentary Constituencies in India.
  • He should not hold any office of profit.