NITI Aayog

NITI Aayog or National Institution or Transforming India Aayog is a policy think-tank of Government of India that replaces Planning Commission and aims to involve the States in economic policy-making in India.

It will be providing strategic and technical advice to the Central and the State Governments. The Prime Minister heads the Aayog as its chairperson.

Prime Minister has constituted three sub-groups of Chief Ministers within National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog.

First sub-group- It will study the 66 centrally-sponsored schemes and recommend which schemes should con-tinue, which should be transferred to States, and which to discontinue.

Second sub-group- It will focus on skill development and creation of skilled manpower within states.

Third sub-group- It will decide on the institutional mechanisms to be evolved for Swachh Bharat Abhiyaan, so that cleanliness becomes apart of life in perpetuity.

Present Member of Niti Aayog

Chairperson: Shri Narendra Modi, Hon’ble Prime Minister

Vice Chairperson: Shri Arvind Panagariya

Full-Time Members: Shri Bibek Debroy, Shri V.K. Saraswat, Prof. Ramesh Chand

Chief Executive Officer: Shri Amitabh Kant