Speaker of the Lok Sabha

After formation of anew Lok Sabha the President appoints a Speaker protem who is the senior most member of the House.

A Deputy Speaker is also elected to officiate in the absence of the Speaker.

The Speaker is the Chief Presiding Officer of the Lok Sabha.

The two officers are elected from amongst the Members of the Lok Sabha after a new Lok Sabha is constituted.

The Speaker presides over the meetings of the House and his rulings on the proceedings of the House are final.

He has the responsibility to uphold the dignity and the privileges of the House.

In the absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker performs the Speaker’s duties.

The Speaker continues to hold ofice even after the Lok Sabha is dissolved till the newly elected Lok Sabha is constituted.

The Speaker and the Deputy Speaker may be removed from their offices by a resolution passed by the House with an effective majority of the House after a prior notice of 14 days to them.

  • Meira Kumar is the first woman Speaker of the Lok Sabha (2009-2014)
  • GMC Balyogi is the first speaker to die in the office (1998-2002)
  • Dr Balram Jakhar was the longest serving Speaker (1980-1989)
  • M A Ayangar was the first Deputy Speaker (1952-1956)
  • GV Mavlankar was the first Speaker of the Lok Sabha (1952-1956)
  • Sumitra Mahajan is the present Speaker of 16th Lok Sabha since June, 2014.