The Prime Minister

Prime Minister is the real executive authority.

Article 74 & 75 says about Prime Minister’s appointment, duration of his office and his responsibility.

Article 74 (1) : It provides that, “There shall be a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister as its head to aid and advise the President who shall in exercise of his functions act in accordance with such advice.

Article 75 (1) : The Prime Minister shall be appointed by the President and other Ministers shall be appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister holds preeminent position, second only to the President.

He is principal advisor to the President and holds enormous powers.

He presides over the meeting of council of Ministers.

He allocates & reshuffles various port-folios among the Ministers.

He guides, directs, controls & coordinates the activities of the Ministers.

Along with other ministers he is also responsible to Lok Sabha and individually responsible to the President.

He is the link between President and the Cabinet.

Article 78 envisages duties of Prime Minister in respect of furnishing information to the President.

Prime Minister is the key link between the Cabinet and the Parliament and keystone of Cabinet architecture.

  • Present Prime Minister of India 2014: Narendra Damodardas Modi
  • First female Prime Minister of India: Indira Gandhi
  • Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister and the longest serving
  • Gulzarilal Nanda is the first and the only acting Prime Minister of India.
  • Lal Bahadur Shastri was the first PM who died abroad while in office in Tashkent.
  • Gulzarilal Nanda has acted twice as the Prime Minister.
  • Chaudhary Charan Singh the only PM never faced Parliament while being in office.
  • Morarji Desai was the oldest PM and Rajeev Gandhi was the youngest PM.
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee (May 1996-June 1996) government had the shortest tenure 13 days.