Monthly “AWARDS AND HONOURS” Current Affairs May 2016  pdf like pocket points .
Indian-American journalist Neela Banerjee felicitated with Edgar A Poe award
IISc professor Sriram Ramaswamy became Royal Society Fellow
Dharmendra, Jeetendra felicitated by Maharashtra NavNirman Sena (MNS)
Vardy named Football Writers’ Player of the Year
BCCI nominates Virat Kohli for Khel Ratna award
Amitabh, Kangana receive National Awards
Pankaj Parakh from Maharashtra sets record for costliest gold shirt
Agriculture project in Andhra Pradesh wins WSIS 2016 prize
Swiss government honours Yash Chopra with statue
The scientists and engineers of the LIGO Scientific Collaboration, who detected gravitational waves and reported their discovery in February, have been awarded a $3 million Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics.
Musician Angélique Kidjo and three African youth activist movements have been given Ambassador of Conscience Award 2016.
President Pranab Mukherjee conferred the 15th set of Federation of Indian Export Organisations (FIEO) Niryat Shree and Niryat Bandhu Awards in New Delhi.
Indian Parashar Kulkarni in the first week of May 2016 won the Commonwealth Short Story Prize for 2016, for the Asia region.
Corporation Bank gets “Excellence Award on Empowering MSMEs 2016”
President presents Gallantry Awards and Distinguished Service Decorations to Defence personnel
Nagaland police bags Smart Policing Award
Mark Rylance and Suranne Jones received the leading actor and actress awards in BAFTA AWARDS 2016
Indian scientist bags SGD 3 million grant from Singapore’s NRF
Priyanka in Millennial Leaders list by U.S. News
NK Singh gets Japan’s 2nd highest civilian award
Priyanka most desirable woman of 2015: TOI poll
Madhya Pradesh Tourism wins Best Indian Destination for Wildlife Award
Obama honours Indian-American Teacher Revathi Balakrishnan
Uttar Pradesh, Jammu &Kashmir among Lonely Planet Travel Award winners
Kerala bags LPMI’s best family destination award
Pizza Hut sets highest altitude delivery record
Real Madrid most valuable football team: Forbes
President gives away National Florence Nightingale Awards 2016
Indian artist Anjali Chandrashekar wins award at UN poster contest on Ndisarmament
Rwanda cricket team captain, Eric Dusingizimana sets longest net session Guinness
Guinness names 30-yr-old cat Scooter as ‘Oldest living cat’ Record
Indian short film ‘Beti’ to be screened at Seattle International Film Festival
UN to honour 4 Indian peacekeepers posthumously
1st Academy Awards ceremony was held 87 yrs ago
Actress Celina Jaitley has been honoured with the Harvey Milk Award.
Anjali Chandrashekar, an Indian comes 3rd in UN Poster for Peace contest
S Korea’s Han Kang wins Man Booker International
Four Indian Peacekeepers, civilian to be honoured posthumously
‘Prem Ratan Dhan Payo’ (PRDP) named worst film at 2016 Ghanta Awards
IIT-Kgp student bags European Materials Research Society Award
Sonakshi Sinha gets ‘The Angries’ award
Indian Based American scientist to receive National Medal of Science award from US President Barack Obama
Indian-American Teen Syamantak Payra Wins Intel Young Scientist Award
JK Rowling receives highest French civilian honour
116-yr-old Italian named oldest living person
Baba Ramdev listed in most creative biz people
Chinese policeman sets planking world record
Indian-American Rakesh K Jain received US National Medal of Science 2015 from Barack Obama
Indian-American Rupa Iyer awarded with Highest Teaching Award in US
Sikkim CM PawanChamling conferred with Nepal’s literary award
Romanian CristianMungiu & France’s Olivier Assayas share best director prize at Cannes
Billboard Music Awards were presented at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas
I, Daniel Blake won Palme d’Or at Cannes Film Festival
Sikkim CM Pawan Chamling conferred with Nepal’s Yugkavi Siddhicharan Prize
Indian-American students sweep National Geographic Bee contest
US biochemical engineer wins $1.2 million technology prize
56 Indian companies on Forbes ‘Global 2000’ list
Sunil Mittal gets highest Harvard B-School award
Pakke Tiger Reserve in Arunachal Pradesh wins 2016 India Biodiversity Award
Amateur Indian author’s manuscript wins $10,000 book award
Telangana govt enters Limca Book of Records
Indian-American scientist wins Springer Theses Award
President Pranab Mukherjee to present MaltiGyanPeethPuraskars
Ashrita Furman holds most Guinness World Records
Virat Kohli named T20 Player of the year, Ashwin best bowler at Ceat Award event
AR Rahman conferred Japan’s Fukuoka Grand Prize